Some social network sites offer the feature for users to see who has visited their profile (footsteps).
Orkut for example introduced footsteps some time ago. A user is able to opt out of this feature (so she doesn’t leave footsteps anymore and can browse other people’s profiles anonymously), but if she opts out she also can’t see other people’s footsteps on her profile anymore. This resulted in many Orkut users creating second dummy accounts that they used to browse anonymously, while footsteps are still enabled on the user’s real account.
Would you see a problem if a social network site has footsteps enabled by default, and the user can opt out (to not leave footsteps anymore) but would still see other people’s footsteps on her profile (as long as those people didn’t opt out)?
What do you think?